The department hosts three types of postdoctoral fellows. These are:

  1. Externally-funded postdoctoral fellows

    Most of the postdocs hosted by the department are funded by external fellowships. Some of these fellowships are:

    Disclaimers. For the latest information on these fellowships, please check their websites. Some of these may not longer be available. At the same time, there may be other funding opportunities that are not listed above.

    If you wish to apply for any of these, and then join the department, you must first identify a prospective faculty mentor in your area of research, and seek their consent to host you at the department. The faculty member will inform you of their decision after consultation with the Postdoctoral Fellows Committee, which may contact you for more information to assess your suitability for the position.

  2. Institute-funded postdoctoral fellows

    The institute offers a select number of postdoctoral fellowships including the Raman Post-doctoral Fellowship and the IoE Fellowship. If you wish to be hosted at the mathematics department as a Raman PDF, please carefully read the institute advertisement for these positions, and follow the procedure outlined in the advertisement.

    Please note that the Raman PDF is a highly competitive and prestigious fellowship, and the department recommends very few applications for further screening at the institute level. The candidate must show a strong record of independent and high-quality research.

  3. Postdocs funded by individual faculty grants

    Some members of our faculty may also have grants that can support a post-doctoral position. You may write to faculty members (in your area of research) to enquire about the possibility of such funding.

All postdocs will be expected to teach/perform TA duties depending on the department's requirements.

For any clarifications, you may write to the postdoctoral fellows committee.

Contact: +91 (80) 2293 2711, +91 (80) 2293 2265 ;     E-mail: chair.math[at]iisc[dot]ac[dot]in
Last updated: 13 Jun 2024